IPEd has announced the shortlist for the 2019 Rosanne Fitzgibbon Editorial Award – the Rosie – and the winner will be announced at the conference Gala Dinner on Thursday, 9 May.

The shortlisted editors are Julia Carlomagno (Adult Fantasy), Patrick Mangan (No Spin) and Julia Carlomagno (No Way But This).

Editors Victoria and the Conference Organising Committee wish to congratulate the shortlisted editors and we are proud to be hosting the presentation of the Rosie in the heart of Melbourne, at Mural Hall – a most fitting venue for this recognition of outstanding editorial capability.

Following a scrumptious autumn dinner menu and exceptional entertainment with Fiona Scott-Norman and Tony Wilson, the winner will presented with the Rosie by Professor Emeritus Roly Sussex, Patron of IPEd. Then we’ll fling our feather boas over our shoulders and glide onto the dance floor.

Join us to toast the winner of the 2019 Rosie!

Roseanne Fitzgibbon (1947–2012)

About the Rosie

The Rosie honours the editorial contribution of Rosanne Fitzgibbon (1947–2012), whose professional life was spent chiefly at University of Queensland Press, editing fiction titles. She was the inaugural winner of the Beatrice Davis Editorial Fellowship in 1992, which took her to publishing houses in New York, subsequently benefiting every author she worked with. Rosie was known and loved for her passionate commitment to her authors, often working with them on several titles.

The Rosie rewards editorial excellence with a cash prize of $4000 and is based on both the quality of the finished work and contributions from editor, author and publisher about the process. The Rosie is awarded every two years, at the IPEd conference.

This year’s shortlisted editors

Eight published works were submitted for the 2019 Rosanne Fitzgibbon Award. All editors demonstrated a commitment and dedication to their craft. The following three shortlisted collaborations displayed an outstanding editorial capability in supporting the writers to create the best publishing outcomes.

Julia Carlomagno cleverly saw an opportunity to develop Briohny Doyle’s essay, ‘Marriage’, into a narrative non-fiction book. Adult Fantasy (Scribe) is the critically acclaimed result. Carlomagno developed a close and respectful rapport with Doyle, fostering the author’s ability to write in a new genre.

Patrick Mangan managed a difficult editorial project with the Shane Warne autobiography No Spin (Penguin Random House). Mangan built up a high level of trust with UK-based author Mark Nicholas and globe-trotting subject Shane Warne, coordinating legal and logistical issues, and employing unique editorial skills and diplomacy.

Julia Carlomagno assisted Jeff Sparrow to create an inspirational portrait from an academic text about Paul Robson in No Way But This (Scribe). She developed a close and respectful relationship with Sparrow, supporting him through the publishing process with her sensitive interventions into structure, voice and content, providing research and fact-checking. The result is a compelling narrative that is part biography, part travelogue and part political history.

Briohny Doyle,
Adult Fantasy (Scribe),
edited by Julia Carlomagno
Shane Warne with Mark Nicholas,
No Spin (Penguin Random House),
edited by Patrick Mangan
Jeff Sparrow,
No Way But This (Scribe),
edited by Julia Carlomango